Thinking of the Future…

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do with my life. Do I want to pursue writing as a career? Maybe I’d like to try modeling? Or Psychology? Teaching? I’m struggling with what my calling in life is- what I’m good at. It’s difficult to figure out what would be best to create the life I want for myself and for my future family. I’m worried about the future, honestly. I want a decent amount of money, a nice house, happy kids, and maybe even a strong marriage. I want the “American Dream.” Is that so crazy? I worry a lot about the future of this country, as well as the world. It’s not just about me. So much has changed since my parents were kids. I feel like the world is only getting worse as we go. We’re in debt, technology is taking over, kids are growing up so much faster these days. Not to mention crime rates, wars, the possiblility of nuclear bombs being used, and terrorist threats. I don’t want my kids to grow up in an age even more based on material possesions than we are today. I want them to grow up in a world where they can ride their bikes down the street and play… just be KIDS.

I’m a worrier so maybe that’s what all of this is but, I have to tell you, all of this worrying is EXHAUSTING. I’m sick of people arguing over whether or not we use birth control or allow women the option to an abortion or if we should allow gay marriage. There are bigger issues than you forcing your ideals down people’s throats. There are bigger issues than whether or not two people in love can be married just because YOU think it’s wrong. Honestly, if you aren’t gay, you don’t have to get married to someone of the same sex; if you don’t believe in birth control, don’t use it; if you don’t want an abortion, don’t get one. DON’T INFRINGE ON OTHERS. They have the right to get married to who they want, have kids when they want, and get an abortion if that’s what they think is right in their situation. The world we live in is more worried about what their neighbor is doing than what’s right for THEM to do.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Thinking of the Future…

  1. patrice345 says:

    I love your blog, keep writing! I’m reblog hung your blog for my Teens Have Wisdom Too reblog weekend. You can check it out here at Whimsically Yours: patricecaldwell.wordpress.com 🙂

  2. patrice345 says:

    Reblogged this on Whimsically Yours and commented:
    Check out this teen: she’s new to blogging and she’s already great at it! In this post she talks about typical worries that any teenager has when trying to discover/create/imagine what they are going to do in their life, I have them all the time.

    She talks about wanting te “American Dream” and finding something she is good at. It’s an honest blog post that into the emotions that come with being a teenager, including worrying. It is this emotion that she focuses the second half of her post on…allowing the reader to move away from her and to some of the “big issues” of the day.

    In my opinion it is okay to worry and it is okay to want that “perfect” success story life as long as you getting it doesn’t end with you leaving behind your other dreams.

    Whimsically Yours,
    PnC

  3. Elizabeth says:

    The world does look worse than it did than just 10 years ago when I was 7. My mind is blaming 5 year old with more electronics than most teens and some adults, I saw a 4 year old with an iPod touch last week, then I’ve heard of an 8 year old flushing his iPod touch down the toilet…little kids have no respect for nice things like that, or for others really. When ‘i was 4 I had a tire swing, a Barbie ‘laptop’ filled with spelling games and responded to adults with ‘mam’ or ‘sir’.
    Agree with the whole ‘let them decide’ thing. I don’t agree with some of them but it’s not my place to in force my beliefs on them. land of the free? That’s what we call America, isn’t it?
    I’ve read a few of your posts btw, you are very good(:

    • justonegirl says:

      My cousins’ babies can work an iphone better than they can… they’re like two years old! It’s crazy how technology based our world is becoming. Frankly, as an aspiring author, the thing that really gets to me are kindles and nooks… making it impossible for you to curl up with a book and feel the pages beneath your finger tips. There’s a point where that kind of stuff stops benefiting us and becomes detrimental! I agree with you that sometimes you don’t agree with what people want to do, such as abortion, however it’s THEIR body and therefore, the choice should be theirs. That’s how I feel about all issues of that nature; you do whatever you want as long as it doesn’t interfere with anyone else’s needs.
      And thank you very much! It means a lot ❤

Leave a Reply

