Three little words.

Who am I?

Those three seemingly insignificant words come together as one of man’s most puzzling questions. In high school is easy to forget “who am I?” for “who do I want to be?” But that’s simply the wrong way to look at it. You probably want to be the prettiest girl in school with all the money and clothes your heart desires but guess what? That’s not you. You can’t watch TV and think “I want to be her.” YOU AREN’T HER, you’re you! And that’s totally awesome! If I were to ask myself what I want to be, I’d say that I want to be prettier, I want perfect hair, I want more followers on my blog, I want to be popular. The harsh reality is that asking myself who I want to be won’t change anything. So who am I? I’m not completely sure, there are plenty of years to get to know myself, test things out, and learn. Right now all I know is that I’m a girl with good intentions, a kind heart, and a passion for writing. That’s enough for now. 

To all of you out there who might be on the journey to find yourself, take a few risks. Go and do things you’re not sure you’d like because maybe that’s your passion. Take a class that sounds fun, just because you have extra space in your schedule. Don’t be discouraged if you don’t know who you are right now, you have time to figure it all out. This world can be a tricky place;you may get a broken heart or lose some people you thought would always be there, but you can’t let it stop you. Be strong and be yourself.

Next time you think about who or what you want to be, rephrase the question…

Image

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Three little words.

  1. I disagree, finding out who you are is good, but if you don’t aspire to be anything, or get try to get to a place where it will make you happy i.e getting into a job that you would love to spend every day doing. You won’t be able to change as a person, you won’t be able to grow. So i think finding out who you are in the present is important but if you don’t want to be anywhere, then who you are at the moment can get boring. And only what you want to be can lead or excitement, because whilst the destination is important, the journey of life is ever more mentally stimulating.

Leave a Reply

