Brace Yourself.

Something you need to know about me is that I love politics. If I’m watching TV, it’s a political show (unless Pretty Little Liars or Bones is on my DVR!). It’s become a big part of my life, especially with the election coming up in November. The reason I haven’t talked about Politics thus far on my blog is mostly because I wanted you all to realize that I’m a normal teenager, just like many of you! I have Rachel Maddow playing in the background as I’m writing this and just watching Romney talk gives me a headache. So yes, I am a democrat and I absolutely LOVE Barack Obama! If you disagree, I suggest that you continue reading because I’ll give you a brief overview of why I feel the way I do.

We’ll start with the main reason I don’t like the Republican party, they seem to contradict themselves pretty often. They all say they want government to be smaller and less intrusive, but they’re the same people who think government should be able to ban abortion and gay marriage… and don’t forget that, of course, government should outlaw contraception! Look, I don’t think the government should be allowed to tell us who we can’t love and what we can’t do with our own bodies. If Romney becomes the president, you can bet he’ll be working on that promise to get rid of planned parenthood. But why? Planned Parenthood isn’t all about abortions, plan B pills, and birth control- it’s about helping women with these, among other things such as sexually transmitted diseases and cancer screenings. I’m on http://www.plannedparenthood.org right now and I think it’s an amazing resource that any women could use to answer questions they may have.

For more than 90 years, we’ve worked to improve women’s health and safety, prevent unintended pregnancies, and advance the right and ability of individuals and families to make informed and responsible choices. -Planned Parenthood

What really bothers me about Romney in particular is that I don’t know what his views are because they change everyday; he says whatever he feels will help him be elected and you see proof of that in debates/ads for his campaign for senate and in Massachusetts. He also cites Bain Capital as proof that he can create jobs, yet Bain took jobs from so many people! And to top it all off, he keeps money in Swiss bank accounts and the Cayman Islands which allows him to avoid taxation on that money. The fact of that matter is Willard (Mitt) Romney is a wealthy man who is out of touch with the people who really matter in this country- the middle class.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Brace Yourself.

  1. Glad to find another teen who likes politics. My friends think I’m weird for liking it.

Leave a Reply

