Issues and Beliefs- Pt. 1

If you don’t pay much attention to politics, bare with me and read this whole post. Odds are you’ll be voting in the next few years (maybe even this year) so you might as well hear someone’s opinion. Political shows are a little dull sometimes and you, as teenagers, have better things to do- trust me I feel the same way most of the time. The thing is, I love politics. I love being informed and making my own decisions- it feels good. Anyways, I promise not to try to sway you. You, as part of America’s (or the world’s) youth are our future doctors, lawyers, teachers, mothers, fathers, and even politicians. So, seriously, read this post- there are some things you should know about the politics of this country in 2012. Things that I never dreamed would suddenly become relevant again but, somehow, here they are. And, it’s cool to have your own opinions, and to share them! I would actually love to hear what you think but don’t knock my views or be rude about it. Thanks (:

With the election coming up in just a few short months I feel the need to begin venting my opinions on the issues that seem to be taking over. You may have heard the phrase “war on women” before, especially if you are involved in politics and try to keep informed, as I do. This phrase has been shot down by several republicans including the chairmen of the Republican National Committee, Reince Priebus, who said, “If the Democrats said we had a war on caterpillars and every mainstream media outlet talked about the fact that Republicans have a war on caterpillars, then we’d have problems with caterpillars.”

I think (hope) we can all agree that this is bullshit. The reason the words “war on women” keep popping up is because it’s much easier to say those three words than to really explain the problem. This is only the first post I plan to make regarding issues and politics (hence Pt. 1) and, so, this is only one issue that adds into this war.

Abortion:

My personal opinion- I’m pro-choice. I’ve never met anyone who was “pro-abortion” because that simply doesn’t exist. Personally, if I became pregnant, I don’t think I’d be able to get an abortion for multiple reasons. However, I can’t be the judge of what other women do about their bodies and I don’t know their circumstances. I feel that as long as the pregnancy is aborted before the fetuses can feel pain (which is between 20-22 weeks) the woman should be able to make her own decisions. What she does with her body is none of my, or your, business.

A lot of people feel that abortion should only be available in cases of rape, incest, and to protect the mother’s health. I think if we aren’t going to allow free choice, we should have these exceptions- at the very least. Think about rape, for example. There are more things to think about than people care to realize. Say you were raped, maybe you’d want to abort that pregnancy so that you wouldn’t have a living reminder that you were raped. On the other hand, maybe you wouldn’t mind because you feel that your child is a gift from God, or something of that nature. Okay, that’s up to you and, really, your tolerance level. However, did you ever stop to think about that child’s life? What about the day when your kid asks, “where’s my dad?” What answer will you have for that? Would you lie? If I had grown up without a dad, I would have asked about him like every other kid in that situation and if my mother’s answer would have been that she was raped- eventually you would find that out- I would be devastated! I’d question how I came to be, who my dad was, who I was. That’s difficult. Again, if you feel that you could handle such a thing- more power to you! But for some women out there, myself included, that sounds like a horrible way to bring a child into this world.

In a case of the mother’s well-being… I kind of think you should air on saying that the mother has a life already- she’s here. She has a heartbeat, she has feelings, she has loved ones. Is her life not just as important as the fetus? That exception, at least in my mind, is a no brainer and I shouldn’t have to explain why it’s necessary. And, I’ve never really understood why incest is in its own category other than if it’s incest by choice, which isn’t usually the case. In that situation there are higher risks for your child to have certain disorders and their life probably won’t be “normal” with a dad who is also their grandpa or an uncle who is their father… that, to me, seems like a personal choice based on what your morals and circumstances are.

Honestly, the bottom line on how I feel about abortion is that a lot of people bring up religion, as they do with other personal/moral decisions. In which, I have to say, your religion has absolutely nothing to do with my religion, my choices, my body, my family, my morals, and, frankly, our laws. I’m not sure how all of these things, like gay marriage for example, are allowing religion to get a vote. Look- you can be whatever religion you want to be, that’s part of your freedom as an American. But you can not push your ideas down my throat. You can’t change laws to show your opinions because those don’t have to be mine. It’s my body, it’s your body- it’s not the government’s or the pope’s. Why do they get to dictate what you do?

For those of you who may argue that this is a nation built on Christianity, and there are people who will think that, here’s a few quotes for you. This nation was built on freedoms.

“The United States of America is not in any sense founded on Christianity- as it has in itself no character enmity against the laws, religion, or tranquility of the Musselmen.” -1796, Treaty with Tripoli; written under presidency of George Washington, signed under John Adams.

“Can a free government possibly exist with the Roman Catholic religion?” -John Adams.

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion.” -United States Constitution, 1st Amendment.

There are so many more that you can look up at any time. Go out there, do research, learn, and then, make your own decisions and your own opinions- because we are this nations future.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Issues and Beliefs- Pt. 1

  1. Somehow, I got addicted to commenting on your articles. It might be because most of the times I agree with your point of view or maybe because you reply back. Or both. 🙂
    Now, in this article, I totally agree with it. I am not American, so I don’t know about politics there, but I am somewhat knowledgeable about Indian politics, my late grandfather and his family was into politics and I aspire to get into law school one day.
    But in India, abortion was made legal in 1971, the penal code in fact protects the woman and it is her choice whether to abort or not, after all it is she who has to raise the child. But she can abort the foetus only before it feels the pain, i.e. before the 20th week of pregnancy. And the law gives the woman the right to abort or not, whatever the reason. But, since female foeticide is on the rise, sex-selective abortion is illegal. I agree with this. After all abortion is the right of the woman and if the woman doesnt want a child at a particular time. it is better to abort a child than to give birth and then abuse the child.
    But, the society is not so acceptable. They isolate women who have had abortions accusing them of killing children, who are apparently a gift of God, and treat them the same way as one would treat a murderer. But, these same people have absolutely no problem with killing new born girl babies!

    • justonegirl says:

      In 1973 abortion became legal in America. Now in 2012 it’s somehow an issue again, along with a number of other strange topics. Did you know that since that court decision, crime rates that were supposed to skyrocket actually declined by a lot? If you haven’t, you should watch the documentary Freakonomics sometime. Because of that decision a lot of unwanted children never happened and, therefore, there weren’t quite as many poor or badly treated kids. A lot of those children would have became criminals, that’s just a fact.
      The Roe v. Wade decision needs to be upheld for so many reasons, I hate that government is being used to control what people do with their own bodies- it’s outrageous!
      And, again, thank you for all of the wonderful comments and feedback (:

Leave a Reply

