Oh Lord, I Still Don’t Know What I Stand For.

No, I’m not talking about myself when I use those song lyrics, however the words correctly describe the Romney campaign thus far. Okay, so it’s no surprise to you that I’m a democrat but I really would consider throwing my support behind a republican if we agreed on a few important issues. The problem arises when you think about what Romney stands for- Which as far as I can see is basically.. well.. nothing.

Think about it for a second! Sunday, Romney went on Meet the Press and said, “Well, I’m not getting rid of all of health care reform. Of course, there are a number of things that I like in health care reform that I’m going to put in place. One is to make sure that those with pre-existing conditions can get coverage. Two is to assure that the marketplace allows for individuals to have policies that cover their — their family up to whatever age they might like. I also want individuals to be able to buy insurance, health insurance, on their own as opposed to only being able to get it on a tax advantage basis through their company.” Not long after this statement a Romney aide clarified that Mr. Romney doesn’t actually intend to guarantee that people with pre-existing conditions could get insurance. What? I’m pretty sure he just- oh well.

I honestly don’t think this whole thing is Romney’s fault though, considering a similar thing happened after Vice Presidential candidate, Paul Ryan, spoke in Colorado about how marijuana legalization should be up to the states to decide. Which, if they’re trying to gain back the young voters in Obama’s camp may not be a bad idea. However, as you may have guessed, the Romney-Ryan campaign released a statement claiming that Ryan didn’t mean that and doesn’t agree with legalization at all.

So who’s to blame? I’d say it’s a communication issue within the campaign. Their front-men are Romney and Ryan, so they should probably inform the two of them on what they should say on issues that have become semi-important to the American people (Healthcare, abortion, gay marriage, legalization, ect.) I hate to bring back the “etch-a-sketch” debate but, honestly, when will they get their opinions together and stick to it? To this day I have absolutely no idea what they stand for and it’s impossible for me to like his views if there aren’t any..

Leave a Reply

