Issues and Beliefs- Pt. 2

In the first post in this series I spoke about the “war on women” and, more specifically, abortion. If you haven’t read it, here’s the link: Issues and Beliefs- Pt. 1 (: This post was supposed to be all about contraception bans and female rights, you know, going with the basic trend of “war on women”… however, some other campaign issues have come up. I no longer feel the need to speak about the social issues which we all know are usually liberal concepts. I would like to talk about Mitt Romney today instead.

I’m hoping that most of my readers have heard about the recent attacks on American embassies in Libya and Egypt. Well, something you may or may not have heard about is that Romney decided, too soon, to make comments about it. I would like to begin by saying: Governor Romney, you are NOT my president. If you end up being my president at the end of this election, okay… but you are NOT there yet. What right do you have to speak to the American public when it is already set for Obama, who is way more informed than you, to address us? None. Absolutely none. I don’t understand at all how ANYONE thought that was a good idea.

Now, on top of that he said the president was “apologizing for our freedom of speech” by saying that Americans do not agree with a video that caused at least one of those attacks, a video which told the world that Americans hate Muslims. Which, I’m here to tell you, I don’t hate Muslims nor do I blame them for 9/11.

Today, a video leaked from Romney’s fund-raising speech, in which Romney said and I quote, “All right, there are 47 percent who are with him, who are dependent upon government, who believe that they are victims, who believe the government has a responsibility to care for them, who believe that they are entitled to health care, to food, to housing, to you-name-it. That that’s an entitlement. And the government should give it to them. I’ll never convince them they should take personal responsibility and care for their lives.”

Yes, you read it correctly. Mitt Romney, who is gunning for the presidency of the United States, believes that almost half of America are mooching off the government. It’s too bad that the statistic he chose to use is not just those in the country who are too poor to pay income taxes, that number includes those elderly Americans who have retired, disabled, and even those wealthy American’s who don’t have to pay income taxes. I won’t say anything else, I’ll just copy and paste the Obama campaign’s statement because that probably makes my point better than I could have.

“It’s shocking that a candidate for president of the United States would go behind closed doors and declare to a group of wealthy donors that half the American people view themselves as ‘victims,’ entitled to handouts, and are unwilling to take ‘personal responsibility’ for their lives. It’s hard to serve as president for all Americans when you’ve disdainfully written off half the nation.”

Just think about this before you vote on November 6th- who do you want to run YOUR country?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

