New Angels in Heaven.

I’m sure all of you have heard about the shooting that occurred yesterday. I’m sure you’ve heard the stories of small children hiding in cabinets, bathrooms, and closets… of the teachers who protected them, a few of them even losing their own lives trying to do just that.

I was in gym class, changing in the locker room, when I first heard the news that there had been a shooting in a Connecticut elementary school. My first reaction was that it’s one thing when it’s a high school or a college. You’re sad, it’s tragic, those kinds of things should never happen.. but this wasn’t 15-18 year olds or 20-25 year olds… this was five year old BABIES! They had an entire life ahead of them, futures. How could you look into their frightened little faces and pull the trigger? …They had so much to live for and look forward to, they were taken WAY too soon.

My bestfriend in this world is three years old… she isn’t much younger than those kids who lost their lives. What would I do with myself if it were her in one of those cramped bathrooms thinking that Christmas wasn’t coming for her and that those were her last moments- or, worse yet, what if they were her last moments? It’s so sad to think about teachers like Kaitlin Roig and Victoria Soto who, though I have never met them, became my heroes yesterday.

Kaitlin taught first grade at Shady Hook Elementary. Her day started out just like any other, molding the minds of five and six year old’s, until she and her class heard the gun fire out in the hallway. Kaitlin moved her class into a small bathroom- putting them up on the toilet and sink, whatever she had to do. In an interview with Diane Sawyer she said, “If they started crying, I would take their face and say, ‘It’s going to be OK. Show me your smile,’ ” she said. “They said, ‘We want to go home for Christmas.’ ‘I just want to hug my mom.’ Things like that, that were just heartbreaking.” In the interview, she also mentioned how, regardless of what teachers aren’t supposed to say in our society, she told them all that she loved them in case it was the last thing they heard. If that isn’t the saddest thing I’ve ever heard, I don’t know what is. She kept their hopes up with the thought of death in the back of her mind the entire time. She, along with all 15 of her students, made it out of the building alive, thankfully.

However, teachers like Victoria Soto weren’t so lucky. Soto had a passion for teaching and she loved her students so much that she died protecting them from the shooter. I don’t know about you, but there aren’t many people I would lay my life down for. She’s a hero- point blank; They both are.

Those 20 kids that had their lives stolen from them yesterday will never have their first kiss, fall in love, go to high school, find themselves, make new friends, get their license, try new things, have their hearts broken only to learn and grow from it, go to prom, graduate, start their careers, get married, have their own children, maybe change the world, or build a life and their own families. Why these kids? Why so young? There’s no way for me to answer these questions but I can’t tell you that they are in my prayers- along with their families AND the survivors who lived through such a horrible incident. The poor, beautiful babies are angels now. They’re watching over their families and their friends. That evil man has been sent to hell for all of eternity. There truly is no greater tragedy than the loss of a small child.

Everyone put New Town in your thoughts and your prayers ❤  RIP babies, you’re in a better place now.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

