When all of your dreams come true, who’s standing next to you?

I’ve spent the past week or so watching every episode of One Tree Hill in order. Before this I had been watching episodes here and there as my mom watched the series and I watched season 6 and part of 7 but now I’m going to make sure I see all of it. If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend that you start now- it’s on Netflix. The series ran from 2003 to April 2012 and it’s truly a remarkable show. There are certain things about it that don’t quite fit with the fact that these kids are in high school at the beginning but, honestly, while you’re in to it none of that matters. The show isn’t just a petty high school drama, not at all, it’s full of life lessons and it evokes emotion like no other.

One of the lessons within OTH that really stands out to me has to do with one of the shows main characters, Lucas Scott. This is something that kept me up thinking two nights ago and, now that I’ve watched almost an entire season in one day, has been brought back to the forefront of my mind. In the first three seasons there’s this almost love triangle feel between Lucas, Brooke, and Peyton. Lucas’ entire childhood he had been watching Peyton from afar, she was like his dream girl, but once he becomes a popular basketball player, he has a chance with her and also with her bestfriend Brooke. Anyways, the point is that in season 3 he’s dating Brooke, followed by her breaking up with him, and he preaches to others that she’s “the one.” You can see it all over his face and in his words/actions that he truly believes those words. It’s also obvious how hurt he is that Brooke says that she stopped missing him. Any OTH fan knows that *spoiler alert* in the end he marries Peyton. You can apply that time of thing to your own life, especially when you hear the brilliant way the show always begins and ends, the deep and meaningful insights they share. The take away from that part of the story line is that in high school you might fall in love, you might even think that person is the one for you, but you also might get hurt… but that doesn’t mean that life is over. Just because a relationship doesn’t work out, that doesn’t mean that you should stop trying. Someday, you will find the one for you and you will be happy. High school isn’t everything and it certainly isn’t the end.

I spent hours thinking that over, thinking about my most recent break up and how it made me feel. At first I just felt worthless, the self-esteem I’d been slowly building had just crumbled before my eyes. Then I watched those episodes of One Tree Hill where Lucas was trying so desperately to get her back, I watched as he teared up and told Rachel that he needed her because she was the one. Then, finally, he says, “I’m not the one for you, Brooke Davis” and you know that he actually gets it. You know that he’s going to be okay without her. Those are the kinds of things that make this show worth watching, it isn’t like most shows on TV. It’s not like all of those annoying drama filled soap operas or reality shows, it isn’t like Secret Life where everyone’s always pregnant and everything is about who’s sleeping with who. OTH is a show that brings the drama of high school life together with deep life lessons that you can watch on television and proceed to carry into your own life.

The narration of the show alone just hits you sometimes like Chad Michael Murray is speaking directly to you. In one episode he says, “Tree Hill is just a place somewhere in the world. Maybe it’s a lot like your world, maybe it’s nothing like it. But if you look closer, you might see someone like you. Someone trying to find their way, someone trying to find their place, someone trying to find their self. Sometimes it seems like you are the only one in the world who’s struggling, who’s frustrated, unsatisfied, barely getting by. But that feeling’s a lie. And if you just hold on, just find the courage to face it all for another day, someone or something will find you and make it all okay. Because we all need a little help sometimes-someone to helps us hear the music in their world, to remind us that it won’t always be this way. That someone is out there. And that someone will find you.” And in another episode Nathan says, “When your heart breaks you have to fight like hell to stay alive because you are. That pain you feel? That’s life. The confusion and fear? That’s there to remind you that somewhere out there, there’s something better. That something is worth fighting for.”  Seriously- those are two of THOUSANDS of amazing quotes I’ve heard in the first 4 seasons alone. This show gives me new perspectives everyday. Each episode makes me think just a little bit, or even a lot.

Another really important take away I got from this show was that high school honestly isn’t the end, things change so fast from what you thought you knew. When the cast is in high school, there are a bunch of relationships. Peyton dated Nathan before he married Hayley, Brooke dated Lucas, Mouth dated the Clean Teen and fell in love with Rachel, Brooke dated Chase, Rachel tried to date Lucas, Chris Keller liked Hayley and slept with Brooke, ect. But when they’re adults, everything is different. Some of those relationships last, others are forever forgotten. Imagine for a moment what your life was like last year or two years ago, it was probably nothing like it is now. You had different friends, different love interests, different problems- OTH portrays that aspect of life so perfectly. Things change, people change… that’s life. I’ve learned from this show that it’s true what they say, things that really matter now won’t matter in a year or so. I’ve started basing if I should actually worry about stuff by asking myself, “will this matter to me in five years?” and, nine times out of ten, I realize that it won’t. Once I have that realization, it’s a million times easier to let it go. I owe a lot to that show for helping me to take a step back and see things differently than I ever have in my own life. It’s changed me to sit on my couch and watch and, more importantly, to listen.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

