The Fifth of February.

I woke up this morning and fought with myself to get out of bed; when I finally managed to keep my eyes open, I turned to look at the clock “2/5” was all I saw. I cringed and couldn’t move… It’s the fifth of February. As I gained a more steady level of consciousness I was able to get ready and head off to school, just like any other Tuesday. I went through my entire day feelings slightly distracted and off-task, I couldn’t fully concentrate on any of my school work or even conversations with other students. One of my friends was talking to me second period (free period) and I just had to keep asking her to repeat herself; I couldn’t hear her at times and when I could it was a blur of words, all smudged together.

Then I got home and decided I should deal with my problem instead of trying not to think about it. Today is the fifth of February, which would be Ethan and I’s one year, had we not broken up a few months ago. I sat down on my couch and began to talk, out loud, through how I was feeling and what I’d been thinking. The more I talked, the better I felt, and, thus, my smile grew bigger. This would be our one year but it isn’t, it isn’t our one year because we broke up, and we broke up because we weren’t right for each other. For whatever reason the universe decided that we shouldn’t be together any longer, our relationship had run its course- it’s over now. I realized that the past two weeks of regret and thinking about things that I can never change aren’t helping anyone, especially me. I’ve been through break ups before- two that I would put in this same basic category. It’s true that I loved Ethan on a different level than the other two guys, but it hurt just as badly. A few months after each of those break ups I got really sad and couldn’t keep it all off my mind… but then I would get over and find another guy.

After Brad I told people I would never love again and that he was “the one.” Then after awhile I got over it and realized he wasn’t worth my time. Eventually, I met Jon. He was my first love, I can’t lie about that fact- he was amazing, we were so similar, and I loved him. But guess what? We broke up and I moved on! I met Ethan after a few short-lived, unsuccessful relationships a little over a year after Jon and I broke up. What does that say? There will be a next guy, an amazing one who will sweep me off my feet. With each of those guys things got slightly more serious and I loved them more. I can’t wait to meet the next guy- possibly in college next year. There’s no need to be sad when your life is as good as mine is, especially with me spending less time on social networking/ texting and my grades higher than ever, I’m feeling great! No one can hold me down or keep me from happiness.

It’s the fifth of February, just another Tuesday in the life of a young girl with a bright future ahead of her.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

